The World Academy of Sciences Awards 2026: You can now apply for the 2026 World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Awards. The TWAS Awards, previously known as ‘TWAS Prizes,’ are given to individual scientists in developing countries who have made outstanding contributions to scientific knowledge or applied science and technology for sustainable development.

The World Academy of Sciences Awards 2026
The World Academy of Sciences Awards 2026

The World Academy of Sciences Awards 2026

Starting in November 2018, these awards are presented every two years, as the TWAS Council decides. In a meeting held in Hangzhou, China, on November 11, 2019, the TWAS Council approved UNESCO’s request to change the term ‘prize‘ to ‘award’ for all TWAS distinctions, excluding medals. As a result, the program is now referred to as the ‘TWAS Awards.’


  • TWAS offers nine awards, each valued at USD 10,000 (the amount was adjusted by the TWAS Council in December 2018 and further revised during the Council meeting in Hangzhou, China, on November 11, 2019). These awards are distributed across various scientific fields, including Agriculture, Nutrition and Food Systems Sciences; Biological Sciences; Chemical Sciences; Earth, Climate & Environmental Sciences; Engineering and Computer Sciences; Mathematical Sciences; Medical and Health Sciences; Physics, Astronomy & Space Sciences; and Social Sciences*.
  • Recipients of each award receive a plaque along with the monetary prize.
  • The awards are typically presented on special occasions, often coinciding with the General Meeting of TWAS.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for a TWAS Award, nominees must:

  • Have resided and worked in a developing country for at least ten years.
  • Demonstrate a significant scientific research achievement or an exceptional contribution to applying science and technology for sustainable development.
  • Not be a TWAS member.
  • Not be nominated by jury members serving as Independent Expert Committee members.
  • Do not engage in self-nomination.

Benefits of the Award

Recipients of the TWAS Award receive:

  • A monetary grant of USD 10,000.
  • A distinguished plaque recognizing their contributions.

Nomination Process

  • Online submissions only.
  • Deadline: March 31, 2024 (early submission is highly recommended).

A complete nomination must include the following details and materials:

  • Provide accurate contact information for the nominator.
  • Ensure nominee details are complete, excluding self-nominations and those from jury members.
  • Include general information on the nominee, specifying the country of work and residence over the past 10 years.
  • Specify the scientific field for which the nomination is made (select only one).
  • Craft a concise citation (20–25 words) highlighting the nominee’s significant scientific achievements.
  • Carefully explain the nominee’s work, emphasizing its significance and justifying its outstanding nature. Consider existing opportunities and realistic possibilities available to the candidate, especially for those from scientifically disadvantaged countries.
  • Provide a narrative-style biographical sketch of the nominee, including any time spent abroad in the home country over the past ten years.
  • Detail the nominee’s degrees obtained, professional appointments, and brief information on memberships in academies and societies.
  • Include brief information on the awards and honors received by the nominee.
  • Present a list of the nominee’s 12 most significant publications in an internationally acceptable format.
  • Provide the Google Scholar h-index and the number of citations for the nominee.
  • Include the contact details, especially email addresses, of five referees covering a wide geographical distribution. Note that referee reports can only be submitted through the online platform.
  • Upload the nominee’s brief CV and complete list of publications separately onto the online platform. Only PDF files are allowed.
  • Obtain authorization from the nominee to process their data for the nomination, conforming to Art. 13 of the Italian Legislative Decree 196/2003. This authorization must be submitted through the online platform. Nominees will be contacted by TWAS through the provided email address to submit their acceptance online by the specified deadline.

Where can you nominate a candidate?

Click here to nominate. For more information about the award, click here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here